EU-hosted16 sub-processorschecked 12 August 2026

TimerOS vs Time Doctor: invoicing and a client portal in our €8 tier

Your client signs in to the portal at your own address and pays nothing for it. Hosting is in the EU on every plan. Tracking runs on Windows today, with macOS in development.

  • No screenshots, no keystroke logging
  • EU-hosted · 16 sub-processors
  • Client portal at your own address
  • Hours become invoices, from €8

TimerOS is our product. Every Time Doctor fact below was read off the company’s own pages on 12 August 2026 and links to its source.

Automatic tracking runs in the Windows app; the macOS build is in development. Everything else runs in the browser.

14 days of the full plan, with nothing locked. Your card is saved at signup and is not charged if you cancel before the trial ends. If you stay, you pay from €8 a month for one person or €15 per user, billed annually. Full pricing.

For freelancers and for teams of two to fifty. Larger organisations need Enterprise, which is in early access.

Stay on Time Doctor if
  • You need tracking beyond Windows today. Time Doctor’s pricing page lists “Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile apps”. src Our macOS build is in development.
  • You rely on integrations. Time Doctor lists 60+ of them on Standard and higher plans. Our third-party integrations are planned for Enterprise and not shipped yet. src
  • Budget decides it. Time Doctor Basic is $6.67 per user / month on annual billing; ours is €8 for one seat or €15 per user for a team. Each price is quoted in its vendor’s own currency and not converted. src
Switch to TimerOS if
  • A client or a works council asks where staff data is processed, and you want a short answer. Databases, application compute and uploaded files are in the EU on every plan. Your contract is with an EU company, and our published list names sixteen sub-processors.
  • You work alone, bill by the hour, and want time tracking, projects, invoices and a client portal in one subscription, €8 a month billed annually, instead of four tools.
  • You want the week to end in an invoice. Hours land on projects and tasks with budgets and become invoices in the same workspace, so you can see whether each client pays for the time their work takes.
EU vs 6
Default storage location

jurisdictions. Ours: databases, application compute and uploaded files in the EU. Time Doctor stores personal information in “Colombia, India, Singapore, the US, UK and EU”. src

Windows today
Where tracking runs

is where TimerOS tracking runs; the macOS build is in development. Time Doctor’s pricing page lists “Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile apps”. src

16 vs 21
Published sub-processors

sub-processors on each company’s published list. Time Doctor’s names no jurisdiction for any of them. ours theirs

Neither the location nor the count is a verdict on anyone’s security. Both companies publish a sub-processor list and rely on Standard Contractual Clauses, and either can be used lawfully under GDPR. What differs is the default, and the paperwork it creates. Every figure here is sourced in the rows below.

What you get with TimerOS

A timer the person can see

The timer sits in a bar the tracked person sees all day. Screenshots and keystroke logging do not exist in the product, so there is nothing to switch off or review. download

Data in the EU, a contract with an EU company

Databases in Frankfurt and Ireland, application compute in Frankfurt, files in Cloudflare R2 under the EU jurisdiction restriction. All 16 sub-processors are published. Your contract is with Vezoft in Bulgaria, under EU law. our list

A client portal at your own address

Your client signs in at your-slug.timeros.ai and sees their projects, approvals, support requests, invoices, chat and whiteboard. A client takes no seat and pays nothing. features

From hours to invoice, without an export

Hours are logged against a project with a budget and become an invoice in the same workspace, with no export to another tool. Plans start at €8 a month. our pricing

What we don’t have: time tracking outside Windows, integrations beyond the AI assistant connector, a SOC 2 report or a free plan. See “Where Time Doctor is the better choice”.

01The product

Your team’s workspace, and your client’s

One subscription runs both. Your client signs in at your own branded address and sees their side of the same job, with no seat, no licence and nothing to install.

What the person being tracked sees all day: a bar that stays on top, showing what it is recording and the running total. Nothing is hidden from them. There is no silent mode, and no screenshots for anyone to review later.

About a minute, from signing in to a tracked day. Nothing loads from YouTube until you press play. Watch on YouTube.

Your team desktop app + web

Your team’s workspace, live and clickable. Shown here in the Windows desktop app, where tracking runs. The web app at app.timeros.ai is the same workspace without tracking.

Your client your-slug.timeros.ai

The same work from the client’s side: their projects, their invoices, their tickets. Included from the €8 Freelancer tier up.

The client’s side, at your own address. Nothing loads from YouTube until you press play. Watch on YouTube.

02Comparison

Head to head

12 rows, each sourced, so you can check all of it without taking our word for anything. Where Time Doctor’s own documentation does not answer a row, the cell says so; where the gap is ours, it says that too.

TimerOS
Time Doctor
What you can actually do with itThe work between tracking an hour and getting paid for it. We chose these rows, so they favour us.
Project management
Projects, tasks, budgets and a whiteboard where the client approves work. On every tier. features
Project management
“Projects & Tasks” from the Basic plan. src
Client portal
A branded client portal at your own address (your-slug.timeros.ai): projects, approvals, tickets, invoices and chat, with no seat billed for the client. Every tier. features
Client portal
“Client Login Access”, listed on the Premium plan. src
Invoicing
Invoices raised from tracked hours in the same workspace, on every tier. Full P&L including payroll is on Enterprise. our pricing
Invoicing
Not stated on the pages checked: no invoicing or client-billing row appears in the four plan cards, the “Compare all features” grid, or the features page. src
Support desk for your clients
Your client raises support tickets, and for any incident you can open a war room and bring them in. On every tier. features
Support desk for your clients
Not stated on the pages checked: the compare grid’s “Ticket portal” is the channel Time Doctor uses to support you, the same on all four plans. It is not a helpdesk you run for your clients. src
Integrations
Only the AI assistant connector (MCP) has shipped, on every plan. Third-party integrations are listed on Enterprise but are not built yet. roadmap
Integrations
“60+ integrations” from the Standard plan. src
What it does to the people using itWhat is recorded, and what your team has to agree to.
Where tracking runs
Windows 10 and 11 today, as a desktop app; the macOS build is in development. The timer sits in a bar the tracked person can see at all times. Projects, invoicing, approvals and everything else run in a browser at app.timeros.ai, and your clients sign in separately at your own branded portal address. download
Where tracking runs
Its pricing page lists “Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile apps”. src
Screenshots
None. The feature is not built, so there is nothing to switch off. To classify the time, the Windows app reads the active window title, the application name and, in a browser, the site’s domain, all in memory. What reaches the server is the label, its confidence and the hours per day. If you correct a classification, that app and title are saved on your own machine.
Screenshots
“Screenshots are an optional Time Doctor feature”, included from the Basic plan. For the UK and EEA specifically, “the Screencasts feature is disabled by default to support compliance with applicable data protection laws”. src
Keystroke logging
None.
Keystroke logging
“Time Doctor is not a keylogger… The specific keys pressed are never recorded.” It counts keystrokes and mouse movements and turns the totals into an activity percentage. src
What it costsEntry price, and what happens when the trial ends.
Entry price
  • Freelancer €8 / month billed annually, €10 monthly. One seat.
  • Startup €15 per user / month billed annually, €18 monthly. Up to 50 seats.
  • Enterprise is in early access and not self-serve.
  • No free tier. The 14-day trial takes a card at signup. Nothing is charged if you cancel before it ends. our pricing
Entry price
  • Basic $6.67 per user / month billed annually, $8.00 month-to-month.
  • Standard $11.67 / $14.00.
  • Premium $16.70 / $20.00.
  • Enterprise custom.
  • 14 days free with no card required. src

The public pricing page rendered its price fields empty when we checked, so these come from Time Doctor’s own knowledge base.

Where your data livesThe part your client’s procurement team asks about.
Where data lives, and on whose infrastructure
EU. Databases on MongoDB Atlas pinned to AWS eu-central-1 (Frankfurt) and eu-west-1 (Ireland); application compute on Render in Frankfurt; uploaded files in Cloudflare R2 created with the EU jurisdiction restriction. our list
Where data lives, and on whose infrastructure
The privacy policy states personal information is stored in “Colombia, India, Singapore, the US, UK and EU”. src The sub-processor list names “AWS — Hosting” and “GCP — Cloud” with no regions given. src
EU region option
Default on every plan. There is no region toggle, because there is no other region.
EU region option
Not stated on the pages checked: no customer-selectable EU residency option appears in the privacy policy, the DPA, the sub-processor list or the security page. src
Sub-processors
Sixteen. Seven serve the core product. The other nine process data only for AI employees, if you hire one. Eight of those process it in the US: OpenRouter, Anthropic and five inference providers handle model calls, Anthropic also runs web searches, and fal.ai generates images. The ninth, Hetzner, runs each AI employee’s virtual machine in the EU. Three of the sixteen are EU companies that process data inside the EU (Lettermint B.V. and Zoho Corporation B.V. in the Netherlands, Hetzner Online GmbH in Germany). Stripe and Google LLC involve US processing; for Google, that is only Play distribution and push notifications in the Android build. our list
Sub-processors
21 named, with no jurisdiction shown for any of them and no last-updated date on the page. src
What you can actually do with itThe work between tracking an hour and getting paid for it. We chose these rows, so they favour us.5
Project management
TimerOS
Projects, tasks, budgets and a whiteboard where the client approves work. On every tier. features
Time Doctor
“Projects & Tasks” from the Basic plan. src
Client portal
TimerOS
A branded client portal at your own address (your-slug.timeros.ai): projects, approvals, tickets, invoices and chat, with no seat billed for the client. Every tier. features
Time Doctor
“Client Login Access”, listed on the Premium plan. src
Invoicing
TimerOS
Invoices raised from tracked hours in the same workspace, on every tier. Full P&L including payroll is on Enterprise. our pricing
Time Doctor
Not stated on the pages checked: no invoicing or client-billing row appears in the four plan cards, the “Compare all features” grid, or the features page. src
Support desk for your clients
TimerOS
Your client raises support tickets, and for any incident you can open a war room and bring them in. On every tier. features
Time Doctor
Not stated on the pages checked: the compare grid’s “Ticket portal” is the channel Time Doctor uses to support you, the same on all four plans. It is not a helpdesk you run for your clients. src
Integrations
TimerOS
Only the AI assistant connector (MCP) has shipped, on every plan. Third-party integrations are listed on Enterprise but are not built yet. roadmap
Time Doctor
“60+ integrations” from the Standard plan. src
What it does to the people using itWhat is recorded, and what your team has to agree to.3
Where tracking runs
TimerOS
Windows 10 and 11 today, as a desktop app; the macOS build is in development. The timer sits in a bar the tracked person can see at all times. Projects, invoicing, approvals and everything else run in a browser at app.timeros.ai, and your clients sign in separately at your own branded portal address. download
Time Doctor
Its pricing page lists “Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile apps”. src
Screenshots
TimerOS
None. The feature is not built, so there is nothing to switch off. To classify the time, the Windows app reads the active window title, the application name and, in a browser, the site’s domain, all in memory. What reaches the server is the label, its confidence and the hours per day. If you correct a classification, that app and title are saved on your own machine.
Time Doctor
“Screenshots are an optional Time Doctor feature”, included from the Basic plan. For the UK and EEA specifically, “the Screencasts feature is disabled by default to support compliance with applicable data protection laws”. src
Keystroke logging
TimerOS
None.
Time Doctor
“Time Doctor is not a keylogger… The specific keys pressed are never recorded.” It counts keystrokes and mouse movements and turns the totals into an activity percentage. src
What it costsEntry price, and what happens when the trial ends.1
Entry price
TimerOS
  • Freelancer €8 / month billed annually, €10 monthly. One seat.
  • Startup €15 per user / month billed annually, €18 monthly. Up to 50 seats.
  • Enterprise is in early access and not self-serve.
  • No free tier. The 14-day trial takes a card at signup. Nothing is charged if you cancel before it ends. our pricing
Time Doctor
  • Basic $6.67 per user / month billed annually, $8.00 month-to-month.
  • Standard $11.67 / $14.00.
  • Premium $16.70 / $20.00.
  • Enterprise custom.
  • 14 days free with no card required. src

The public pricing page rendered its price fields empty when we checked, so these come from Time Doctor’s own knowledge base.

Where your data livesThe part your client’s procurement team asks about.3
Where data lives, and on whose infrastructure
TimerOS
EU. Databases on MongoDB Atlas pinned to AWS eu-central-1 (Frankfurt) and eu-west-1 (Ireland); application compute on Render in Frankfurt; uploaded files in Cloudflare R2 created with the EU jurisdiction restriction. our list
Time Doctor
The privacy policy states personal information is stored in “Colombia, India, Singapore, the US, UK and EU”. src The sub-processor list names “AWS — Hosting” and “GCP — Cloud” with no regions given. src
EU region option
TimerOS
Default on every plan. There is no region toggle, because there is no other region.
Time Doctor
Not stated on the pages checked: no customer-selectable EU residency option appears in the privacy policy, the DPA, the sub-processor list or the security page. src
Sub-processors
TimerOS
Sixteen. Seven serve the core product. The other nine process data only for AI employees, if you hire one. Eight of those process it in the US: OpenRouter, Anthropic and five inference providers handle model calls, Anthropic also runs web searches, and fal.ai generates images. The ninth, Hetzner, runs each AI employee’s virtual machine in the EU. Three of the sixteen are EU companies that process data inside the EU (Lettermint B.V. and Zoho Corporation B.V. in the Netherlands, Hetzner Online GmbH in Germany). Stripe and Google LLC involve US processing; for Google, that is only Play distribution and push notifications in the Android build. our list
Time Doctor
21 named, with no jurisdiction shown for any of them and no last-updated date on the page. src
03Hosting

What the hosting difference actually changes

timedoctor.com/privacy-policy

Its privacy policy lists where personal information is stored:

“Colombia, India, Singapore, the US, UK and EU”
Read it on Time Doctor’s sitechecked 12 August 2026
Where TimerOS stores your data
European Union
Where Time Doctor says it stores data
ColombiaIndiaSingaporeUnited StatesUnited KingdomEU

Time Doctor’s privacy policy names the six places where it stores personal information. src Many vendors publish less than that. The transfers themselves are covered by Standard Contractual Clauses.

What the list changes is the paperwork. Your transfer impact assessment has to cover six sets of government-access laws, and the accurate answer to “where is our staff data?” becomes a list of six places. If nobody has ever asked you that, data location will not decide your purchase. If a works council, a public-sector client or an auditor has asked, that question alone can decide it. To Time Doctor’s credit, screencasts are off by default for its UK and EEA customers. src

04Plans

What one TimerOS subscription covers

Freelancer gives one person the client portal, invoicing and support tickets. Startup adds team management, shifts and approvals, up to 50 seats; Enterprise has no seat cap and is in early access.

FreelancerFor one person
€8
/ month billed annually · €10 monthly · one seat
  • Projects and tasks
  • Invoicing and billing
  • Basic expenses and a basic profit overview
  • Support tickets
  • A branded client portal with chat, whiteboard approvals and incident war rooms
Start with Freelancer
StartupFor teams
€15
/ user / month billed annually · €18 monthly
  • Everything in Freelancer
  • Team management, with hours per person in one workspace
  • Shifts and scheduling
  • Time-off approvals and leave balances
  • Company goals, awards and team performance

Up to 50 seats. Beyond that is Enterprise, which is in early access and not self-serve.

Start with Startup
Enterprise
Early access
Not self-serve
  • Full payroll
  • Unlimited departments and a company-wide org chart
  • Custom roles and permissions
  • Vendor bills & company-asset register
  • Full P&L including payroll

Single sign-on, an audit log, third-party integrations and dedicated support are planned for this tier but not shipped yet. See the roadmap.

05Switching

What switching actually involves

  • Only tracked machines need an install. Each one gets the Windows app; the macOS build is in development. Clients and anyone not being tracked install nothing.
  • There is no bulk import. Not even from CSV, for now. Start at the beginning of a new period and keep the old tool read-only for history.
  • Your clients get their own address. A branded portal on your own subdomain, separate from our dashboard.
  • There is no SOC 2 report. No Type I, no Type II. If a client’s security review begins with that document, we will not pass it.
  • Cancelling is self-serve. The workspace owner cancels from the Subscription page; nothing is charged if you do it before the trial ends.
06Where it is better

Where Time Doctor is the better choice

Four cases where we would point you to Time Doctor. Better to know now than in month two.

  • Apps for Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile

    Time Doctor’s pricing page lists Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile apps. Our tracking is on Windows today, the macOS build is in development, and our web app deliberately does not track. A mixed-OS team is a real reason to stay. src

  • 60+ integrations from the Standard plan

    Time Doctor lists 60+ integrations from its Standard plan. Our third-party integrations sit on Enterprise and are not shipped yet. If the tool has to feed an existing project-management or payroll system, that gap decides it. src

  • Video screen recording and an executive dashboard on Premium

    Its Premium plan lists AI productivity benchmarks, work-life balance metrics, an executive dashboard, video screen recording, connectivity tracking and irregular-keyboard-activity detection. We offer almost none of it, so if that layer is what you want, choose Time Doctor. src

  • Screencasts off by default in the UK and EEA

    For UK and EEA customers, Time Doctor starts with screencasts off, so nobody there has to find the setting and switch them off. src

If none of those describe you
You give up a lower entry price and a wider platform list. You get EU hosting by default, 16 sub-processors instead of 21, and an EU contracting entity, Vezoft in Bulgaria.
07Questions

Questions people ask before signing up

Does it take screenshots of my screen, or log what I type?

No. Neither feature exists in the product, so there is no setting to switch off and nothing to review afterwards. To work out what the time was spent on, the Windows app reads the active window title, the application name and, in a browser, the site’s domain, all in memory. Only the label, how confident the classification is and the hours per day reach the server. If you correct a classification, that app and title are saved on your own machine, not ours. The timer itself sits in a bar the tracked person can see all day. There is no silent mode.

Is there a free plan, and does the trial take a card?

There is no free plan, and yes, the trial takes a card at signup. You get 14 days of the full plan, with nothing cut or locked. The card is saved through Stripe and nothing is charged during the trial; the workspace owner can cancel from the Subscription page in the dashboard before it ends. If you stay, Freelancer is €8 a month billed annually (€10 month to month, one seat) and Startup is €15 per user per month billed annually (€18 monthly, up to 50 seats).

I work alone. What do I get for €8, and does my client have to pay?

Your client pays nothing. The €8 tier covers projects and tasks, invoicing and billing, basic expenses and a basic profit overview, support tickets and the full branded client portal at your own address. There your client sees their projects, approvals, tickets, invoices and chat, a whiteboard where they approve work, and incident war rooms. A client takes no seat and no licence. Team management, shifts, leave approvals and company goals start at Startup. Full expenses and a full P&L are on Enterprise, which is in early access and not self-serve.

What does my client actually see, and does a client cost me a seat?

Your client signs in at your own branded portal address, separate from our dashboard. There they see their projects, the approvals waiting on them, their tickets and invoices, a chat thread with you, a whiteboard where they sign off work, and an incident war room if something breaks. A client account takes no seat and no licence, so adding clients does not raise your bill. The portal is included from the €8 Freelancer tier up. Your own team works at app.timeros.ai, a different address; do not send clients there.

Can I tell whether a client is making or losing money?

Up to a point. Hours attach to projects and tasks that carry budgets, and those hours become invoices in the same workspace. That lets you set the time a client’s work took against what you billed them. Freelancer and Startup include basic expenses and a basic profit overview. Full expenses with vendor bills and approvals, and a full P&L including payroll, are on Enterprise, which is in early access and not self-serve.

Half of us are on Macs. Can we use it?

Not for tracking today; for everything else, yes. Automatic tracking runs in the Windows desktop app, and there is no Linux or mobile tracking. It starts when someone signs in to the computer and classifies activity on the device itself. Everything else runs in a browser: your team works at app.timeros.ai, which has everything except tracking, and your clients sign in at your own portal address. Mac users and clients install nothing. A mixed team can still share one workspace. You can assign work to a designer on a Mac, approve it and invoice it, but their hours will not track themselves yet. If tracked hours off Windows are the reason you are buying today, check each vendor’s own platform page, linked in the comparison above. The macOS build is in development roadmap.

My client asks where the data is processed. What do I send them?

Databases on MongoDB Atlas in Frankfurt and Ireland, application compute on Render in Frankfurt, and uploaded files in Cloudflare R2 created with the EU jurisdiction restriction. Your contract is with Vezoft, a Bulgarian company under EU law imprint, and the full sub-processor list, sixteen names, is published alongside our DPA our DPA. You can send your client those links rather than write an answer yourself. What we will not give you is a line saying nothing ever leaves the EU. The Cloudflare CDN edge that serves the pages is global, Stripe and Google involve US processing, and if you hire an AI employee, its model calls, image generation and web searches are processed in the US. All of them are on the same published list, so the accurate answer is scoped to databases, application compute and uploaded files. We also do not hold SOC 2.

The other tool is cheaper per seat. Why should I pay more?

Sometimes it is cheaper. The price rows in the table above are quoted from each vendor’s own pricing page, in the currency each one publishes, with the date we checked. We have not converted anything. Two things to check first: whether the plan has a seat minimum, which changes what one person actually pays, and which of the things you need are on that entry plan rather than a higher one. Client login, invoicing and support tickets sit in our €8 tier; if you buy those from someone else today, add what they cost before comparing per-seat prices. And if entry price is your main constraint, buy the cheaper plan. Better that than cancelling in month two.

What do the other tools have that you do not?

Integrations: only the AI assistant connector (MCP) has shipped. Third-party integrations appear on the Enterprise tier list and are not built yet. SOC 2: we do not hold it, in any form. If procurement begins there, that is a real reason to choose something else. Screenshots and keystroke logging: neither feature exists in the product, so if you need visual evidence of work we cannot produce it. Tracking off Windows: not today; the macOS build is in development. Payroll, unlimited departments, a company-wide org chart, single sign-on and an audit log: all on Enterprise, which is in early access and not self-serve. A free plan: we have none, and the 14-day trial takes a card. The comparison rows above link each fact we could verify to the vendor’s own page, with the date we checked it. For anything they do not cover, read the vendor’s page rather than take our word for it.

More comparisons

Compare the others

Try it against Time Doctor on a week of real work

Track a real working week on a Windows machine. Raise one invoice from those hours. Let one client into the portal and see what they see. If it does not work for you, cancel from the Subscription page inside the trial and nothing is charged.

14 days of the full plan, with nothing locked. Your card is saved at signup and is not charged if you cancel before the trial ends. If you stay, you pay from €8 a month for one person or €15 per user, billed annually. Full pricing.

Sources and trademarks
Time Doctor is a trademark of its respective owner. TimerOS is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by Mystaff.com, LLC or Time Doctor. Every claim above was checked on 12 August 2026 against these pages and may have changed since: Privacy policy, Sub-processors, Customer DPA, Pricing (platforms and plans), Pricing (knowledge base), Security and compliance. Prices are quoted in the currency each vendor publishes and are not converted. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we will correct it.